Planet/Deepest. Image by Victor Habbick via freedigitalphotos.net

Deeper, Part III

Planet/Deepest. Image by Victor Habbick via freedigitalphotos.net

Image by Victor Habbick via freedigitalphotos.net

Her lips brush mine. Her skin is soft, warm as she wraps her arms around me. An explosion of bubbles from my tank push me against her.

She releases me and moves back, sweet lips parted in laughter. I can spend the rest of my life looking at her. She brushes my cheek with her slim fingers and kisses me again. With a flick of her tail, she corkscrews in the water and is gone. Darkness closes in around me.

Suddenly I feel my lungs burning. Heart pounding in fear rather than wonder, I fumble for my regulator. The sound of bubbles released into water stops. The cold lake presses down on me. The last air burst from my lungs in invisible bubbles. A flash in the darkness catches my eye; she is still there! I try to move forward, but this equipment slows me down. I struggle to remove my tank as I inhale ancient, glacial water. The lake embraces me. My BCD rises towards the surface.

I sink deeper.

Leave a Reply

